What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to VFT's

Hi there !

Newbie here..Infact this is my first post!

I just bought this

http://www.hawkin.com/find/keyword-is-venus+fly+trap/product-is-08922?SearchIsReferrer=true

As the store i work in. And came around looking for information. I have potted it as per instructions in the box.

I cant keep it outside as i live in the UK and it would freeze to death!

I have a strong lamp shining on it and i will have it on for 4 hours a day as the box said. I also cut off the end of a plastic bottle and put it over the pot as i heard this is good for them ? Humidity or something ?

How can i keep it warm enough ?

Will that lamp be ok ?

Welcome to carnivorous plants. The lamp will not give it enough light and too much heat. It is a temperate plant. The UK should be just fine for it. Put it outside or in the brightest window of your house. The seeds won't sprout untill you give them a could period lasting for about two months. Do not keep the bottle on. It is useless where you live. Venus flytraps are also very small from seed. it will take five years for you to get a large plant. Look around online. There are many great nurseries that sell large plants. And if you buy fron www.flytrapshop.com your name will turn green.

Last edited by a moderator:
I thought VFT seed didn't need stratification? Isn't it flytrapshop.com?

Sorry my mistake. But flytrap seeds do need straftication. it gets cool in North Carolina

Nearly every guide I've read says to stratify Dionaea seed.

However seeds are often ripe by mid summer. The seeds lose viability within a few weeks unless cold stored.