What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So, my VFT doesn't seem to be starting dormancy on my sill...

When should I fridge it? I'm going to have to fridge it overwinter as no part of my apartment gets cold enough, and being in Michigan, the porch gets too cold. I thought I had to wait for it to go all brown and die back before I fridged it, but that hasn't happened yet, and it seems like it should have started at least.

I have limited experience with providing dormancy for the temperates, but my experience tells me they don't necessarily "die back" for dormancy. Last winter, all of my Sarrs and flytraps just... stopped growing. Maybe a couple dried traps over the course of the winter, but overall, they looked perfectly healthy... just... not growing. Then spring came and they all exploded.

For whatever it's worth. ;p

Oh, and: A lot of people do dormancy in their unheated garage if outdoors is too cold. If that's not an option for whatever reason (as it wasn't for me), you can do what I did: stick 'em in a window sill in a room that's not often used (for me, it was a spare bathroom) and crack the window just enough to cool the window sill but not enough to significantly affect your heating bill, lol.

Were you growing them outside and brought them in??

What are outside temps?

From what I know, and if you were growing them outside, leave them outside to experience frost a few times to really get them in to dormancy and then fridge em or garage em or whatever you would do to shelter them from long term freeze.....

I've been growing them on my sill--we get birds and squirrels all the time and didn't want it getting eaten.
The fridge is the only place I can winter it--there's no room we aren't using.