Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New here and boy do I need help, Flowering Venus Fly Trap

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New here and boy do I need help, Flowering Venus Fly Trap

Hey, so I have a bit of a problem I think. I'm pretty new to carnivorous plants, I've had some luck with various pitcher plants but my VFT leaves a lot to be desired.
    I got back form vacation and when I looked at my VFT, I noticed this large flower stalk that is almost fully developed. Nothing has bloomed yet but it probably will soon. I'll try and get pictures up ASAP, but I have a few questions.
    1. how long until the flowers bloom?
    2. since I have the flowers, might as well try self pollination or something right? I don't have any other fly traps to cross with or anything sadly.
    3. how long till seeds develop and what should I do to plant them? how many should I expect.
    4. on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the worst, how screwed am I with this plant right about now? lol
    Thanks for the help in advance guys, I'll try and do a more proper post later on, but this just came up now.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's common to cut off the flower stalk, as flowering drains a lot of the plant's energy. The cutting can then be planted and you can get a new flytrap from it. That being said, you can try pollinating if you'd like to. The seeds should develop in time for winter, and they'll need a cold stratification. You'd sow them next spring. Don't worry too much about your VFT though, mine flower sometimes and I've never lost a plant because of it.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I let all mine flower out harvested the seeds then cut and planted the stalks lol

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)