What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Red Dragon Help

• Thread starter MorbidMacaroni
  • Start date
  • Tags
    flytrap
M

MorbidMacaroni

confused.gif
My Red Dragon i ordered just came in the mail. I opened him up and he looks a lil bad. i watered him right away and put him in the sun. I hope he does fine. This is my first time growing a red dragon,or a venus flytrap for that madder. Does anyone have any tips for growing the red dragon and for VFTs in general? Your help is much apreciated.

Hey MorbidMac,

First off, welcome to the forums!

Where do you live? And will your plant be outdoors all the time, or indoors? For lighting conditions, this may make a huge difference!

Basic stuff to know, only rainwater, distilled, or reverse osmosis water. No hamburger or other such "human food", VFTs like bugs! Keep it in a tray of water, it will suck up what it needs. Traps can open and close a couple of times each, so after a while some traps may not close, but they still provide the plant with energy from the sun like a leaf, don't cut anything off unless it turns brown.

As long as you used distilled or rain water you should be fine.  Give your VFT a little time to recover from being stuffed up in a dark container and banged around for however many days and it should come around.
smile.gif
If you havn't put it in a small tray of water yet do so.  VFT like their soil damp to wet but not waterlogged.  It will also help keep the humidity up around the plant a little bit.

Visit the FAQ section of this site for information. I forget the address, but if you go to the beginning you'll see a section about it in Announcements.
smile.gif

smile.gif