What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aquarium w. Flytrap

F

fugazi

Hi Guys,

I'm really new to flytraps, but I noticed that it makes it really difficult to water my flytrap because it's in a bowl "aquarium", similar to the picture on the first page of this website [ www.petflytrap.com ].

- When pouring in water from above, the traps close
- When tipping the bowl to avoid watering from above, the water gathers down the bottom and as it fills it floods some traps
- With the small opening on the top, it makes it hard to water at all

I find there are no real benefits of keeping your flytrap in a bowl (the issue of humidity may be worth noting, if you living conditions are dry).

Besides all that, no insects ever fly into the bowl! Grrrr!!!

The only problem is now, how do you get it out?! I threw in some seeds the other month and they're starting to sprout. Now my original plant loves the bowl (ten...yes TEN new traps in one week!&#33
wink.gif
. Should I flood the blood til the soil is totally saturated, and gently lift the plant(s) out (to avoid damaging the roots). Smash the bowl?

Any ideas?

-fuggers

Fugazi, I can help you with the watering. Use a turkey baister, it works great(from experince) and you can be more precise were the water goes. As for removing the plants from the bowl, each has its own risk so I can only wish you luck :)Jack

What on earth did you do Fughazi? I'm having a similar problem, wanting to "flush" out my fish bowl, (have been using wrong water) and everytime I try do to something in there everything gets rearranged. I end up getting dirt in the traps and they close up. Quite a delicate situation.