What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Arrival

Complete newbie here, my very first FlyTrap is on its way to me through the post as I type. Which is the problem - I have no idea it what form it will arrive - so here is my question.

I understand that FlyTraps from big companies are grown in completely controlled and artificial conditions and so I was wondering, if, when it arrives it's growth cycle would be completely out of sync with the season. Now it is winter I wondered whether I should put it straight into dormancy when it arrives, or what? How can I tell what it will need?

I'd be grateful for any information anyone has about VFT's through the post and your experiences with them.

ps. sorry about the long post, I don't have much time before it's here! (yay)

well, the fact that you even KNOW about dormancy, show's your not not a total newbie!

Almost every single flytrap you will find for sale right now, including yours, is probably fresh out of tissue culture, well, not totally fresh, They are all hardened (meaning they have lived in soil for a while now)

What that means, is you can enjoy your flytrap until next autumn. Wehn thanksgiving day rolls around (if your in the US) that is a good time to induce dormancy if you choose to do it via artificial means. Take plants out of dormancy on valentines day.

So, just enjoy your plant! Artificial light is fine, give it about 12 to 14 hours if that is your choice.

as far as the care it needs, get it plenty of light, if it comes in a dome, do NOT leave it in the sun, the dome will hold in heat.

If it is bare root, plant it in a mixture of peat moss and perlite at the most basic, you can also use sand in place of perlite...