User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying VFT in winter

flyboy12
    I am wanting to get a VFT from this site, but I'm not sure if I should order in the winter or if I should wait till spring. I live in east Tennessee so the plant will probably think it is in NC anyways. Will it need to go into dormancy right away? Also, would it be better if I bought the VFT locally, or will the shipping be ok for the plant. Thanks for the help.

flyboy12
    I forgot to ask, there is an option on this site to double up on the plants for $3.00 but they are in the same pot. Would they be too crowded in there. And would it be easy to just transplant one of them to another pot? Thanks again.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, i just ordered 3 VFT's from the site last sunday, and they came in today. They are in wonderful condition, so i wouldnt worry about shipping too much. Im no expert on dormancy, but i dont think that they would need to go right into. Maybe you could grow them through winter, and put them into an early dormancy next year. Just a thought though, dont quote me! And about the double plant. I got that feature on all 3 of the VFTs, they seem to have plenty of room. Once they start to get really big, you could always repot them, but they should be fine for a while like that.
    -~(\/)~-

flyboy12
    Thanks for the info. I think I'll just go ahead and order them then. In the summer is it better to grow them outdoors in full sun, or to grow them inside by a window with flourescent lights?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Full Sun!!! They LOVE light! Be careful and acclimate them slowly to the higher temps, lower humidity and higher light levels.

SF

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)