What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New plant (pics)

Hello, Im a newbie to looking after Venus Flytraps, I just bought this one for £3.99 from B&Q - does it look ok?

venus.jpg

Is it OK to leave the plant outside in full sun during the daytime?

Shall I sit it in a saucer of distilled water all the time or occasionally?

Any other tips?

Thanks

Andy

That plant looks wonderful for just being bought!
biggrin.gif
  Keep it in a tray of distilled water pretty much all the time, maybe let it demoisten (is that a word?) once in a while.  I usually give my VFT's water everyother day at around sunset.  They love full sun, maybe 5 to 6 hours a day (that is what I give mine.)  

Man I wish I could buy plants that nice looking around here.  They are really hard to find, and usually when I do find them they are not looking so good.  Excellent plant though
smile.gif

Wow... I can't believe it, you just bought that, it looks excellent for just being bought. Nice Plant
biggrin.gif

I was quite surprised at the size of it too...lets hope it continues to thrive
smile.gif
The biggest traps are about an inch long.

Are most of you guys in the USA I take it?

Andy

Hi Andy,
Some of us are in the UK too!
wink.gif

Hehe, B&Q had about 8 plants in their 'warehouse' this appeared to be the best although they were all healthy. A few Pitchers which looked healthy and fat, also the ones with the dewey long leaves, cant think of the name
smile.gif

Really nice looking VFT
smile.gif
! Last plant I bought at a store (Wal Mart) didn't have half that many traps and was infested with fungus gnats
sad.gif

The sticky ones are called sundews. They usually sell the species Drosera aliciae.