What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie questions and a pic of the plant

Im pretty new to growing flytraps, the plant is has been in my care for a couple weeks by now. I've read the sarracenia.com FAQ on the plant.

fac80fc6.jpg

Here it is, its grown quite a few new leaves since this picture. The pot seems to consist of about six plants.

Here are the questions.

The FAQ doesn't reccomend repotting plants. Is it possible for them to overcrowd the pot then?

I've noticed quite a bit of fungus growth since the last week. Its growing on black traps and even on the "shells" inside the traps when they open. The FAQ says not to worry about it, as it won't kill your plant unless it is weak. Second opinion? Also, is it okay to feed those traps?

How can you tell your plant is going into dormancy. The plant is still producing leaves but these are much taller and stiff looking than the others.

What insects work best? I've currently been using pgmy grasshoppers-the bakcyard is filled with them.

Hi Nflytrap.. Welcome to the forums
smile.gif

First off let me say that your plant looks great.
smile.gif

Now as for your questions, here we go..

1. VFTs will do just fine in a small pot. The general concensus on this is that small pots= larger leaves and traps. Larger pots= more offshoots and bushier plants. Your plants look fine in their pot, I would leave them be.

2. Clip off the black parts as soon as you see them to help eliminate possible fungal attack. It "shouldnt" be a problem, but as is so common in nature, there is no such thing as "always" or "never". Keep an eye on them and if it spreads or appears to be endangering the plant then further steps will be needed.