What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie Questions/Help needed :)

Hey,

Hows everyone doing? I'm new to growing carnivorous plants (I'm growing VFT's and Sundews[Drosera capensis] ) and need some advice about how to grow the plants well.
I have two species of VFT, unfortunately I don't have the exact species name - but I can give a description. The first is a green VFT with no red whatsoever, the second has green stems and bright red traps. I was told the red one was a rarer form of the VFT. I have kept the plants in the container/soil they were sold in, which I think is made from some sort of green moss. I keep the water up at 1 - 2 cm's and have started using distilled water.

The problem is that my plants seem to by dying, and I can't figure out why. They haven't flowered as of yet and when I brought them they were in good condition. I'm in Brisbane, Australia, so the climate here is virtually always hot and humid in summer, warm and dry in winter. The plants almost seem to be going into dormancy, tho over here we have just gone into summer. The location is out of direct sun, but in strong light. The temperature is very warm, usually up in the high 20/low 30 degrees celcius (I don't know what that is in fereignhight sorry)

Anyway if you have any ideas which might help me figure out whats wrong, that would be great. Have a good week, I'll cya's around.
smile.gif

Cheers,
dan

Hi Dan, welcome to the forum..  
smile.gif

First thing you should do is read the FAQ pages on VFT cultivation at: http://www.sarracenia.com/faq.html.
Also there is a good care sheet pinned at the top of this forum.