What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My first vfts

Ok, I'm new to cp (and to gardening in general, for that matter.)
Anyway, I bought 3 vfts on the net last fall (typical, red dragon, dente.) When I got them I followed the directions for the dormancy period blah, blah, blah...The problem is this: the directions all refer to a bulb for each vft. After carefully searching the mass of white "roots?" I found no bulbs. I followed the directions anyway. Now I'm ready to plant them (apperently a little late, but the instructions didn't really specify how long to leave them in the fridge-"a few months".) I clipped off the dead growth of traps. Do I just plant the "roots" the same as I would a bulb? They are still white and in my (unexperienced) opinion, they look healthy. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Hi Thenoob,
Your right, there is no bulb on VFTs
laugh.gif
!  It is a rhizome.  Plant it up to where the green on the leaves starts. If there isn't enough leaf left to see any green on it then cover it so the growth end of the rhizome is about ½" or so under the soil surface.

When they are ready for dormancy again, they only need refridgerated for about 3 months.  If you live in an area close to where they grow naturally, you can grow them outside all year long.  A 'fridge dormancy is used by those of us where the winters don't get cold enough or get too cold (that be my reason
tounge.gif