What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New member with a question

Hello, everyone! I'm really glad to be a new member on this forum and look forward to learning lots from you all. I'm fairly new to CPs, but it is a growing addiction!!

I have a question: I have a 4" pot with 2 D. spatulata and 2 Typical Form Flytraps (very small). This pot is currently in a small terrarium, but I know it's time for the Flytraps to go into dormancy. Am I better off repotting the D. spatulata in order to take the Flytraps out of the terrarium for dormancy?

Thanks in advance.

PS - I don't know why the local nursery put these plants in the same pot. They have to know the Flytraps need dormancy and the D. spatulata does not.

Yes, it would be best to repot them seperatley and give the VFT's the proper dormancy required. As for the nursery, most nurseries (except for the carnivorous plant nurseries!) don't know anything about the care of carnivorous plants and most VFTs dont last long enough under their care to make until dormancy time comes!
smile.gif

Welcome to the forums, jaxon.
How long have you had your plants? If you've only just gotten them, it is ok to forgoe dormancy for this year, but you still might want to consider repotting the spats. They like more humidity than flytraps. Where do you live? If you live in the southeast US, you can grow the flytraps on the windowsill(there are other places that you can grow flytraps on the windowsill, but I don't know much about them cause I only live in one place, westearn NC LOL). Ask around, I'm sure someone lives near your location.

Dont worry too much about the humidity, repot the spatulatas in a seperate pot and put them in a tray full of rainwater, this will provide enough humidity.