What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Supplies and sources

Hello,

I'm a newbie and just got my first two VFTs from Lowes. I had some trouble finding my first choice in materials and then when I settled on alternatives I was faced with the uncertainty of whether the brands I purchased would be suitable for successful results.

I thought it might be helpful if the experienced, successful growers here could share with us newbies......

1. Where you buy your supplies(chain stores, independent nursery, or alternative source....please be specific)

2. Which brandnames of common supplies work and which ones to avoid

Personally, I'm interested to know where you get Long fiber Sphagnum moss and Washed horticultural sand(Silver sand?).

Thanks!

I just go to any old hardware store for most stuff. For most growing mediums, I buy whatever is cheap and accessible. I understand that sphagnum is not locally available everywhere (it's easy to find here in Washington state) but a number of online CP stores offer it in various quantities. petflytrap.com (the site that hosts these forums) might offer it - I dunno off the top of my head - but if you look around I'm sure you can find some. If you buy it at a store, make sure the bag says that it's exclusively sphagnum, and take a look at the moss itself, if you know what sphagnum looks like.