What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie here, feed me some info!

Hey guys, my name is Nick and I'm new to not only the forums but to VFT and plants in general! I ask that you please bare w/ me on my newbie questions as we all have to learn at some point, right?

Well today I decided I wanted to start getting into plant life and growth, so I ran out to my local nursurey and bought a Venus Fly Trap...below is the image...

flytrap.JPG

Anyway, I've been reading and still have a few questions...these suckers are about 2-2.5 inches in length and appear to be pretty health aside from 2 stems which have a brown end on them, looks like a smaller version of the "heads" of the other stems, but brown - should I cut these? if so how far down do I cut them?

I'm also moving to boston in the winter - how should I prepare them for the winter up there? I know they can't survive outside and I've read that they need to be in a cool place (40-55) so what should I do?

How often should I be watering this and how much? Also what do I do about feeding? I read that you didn;t NEED to feed them but it will help speed up the growth process.

Any info and help is appreciated.

Nick

Nick,

Welcome to the forums, you'll find people very helpful here... I'm just not one of them. well ok. I'll give it a shot..

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Anyway, I've been reading and still have a few questions...these suckers are about 2-2.5 inches in length and appear to be pretty health aside from 2 stems which have a brown end on them, looks like a smaller version of the "heads" of the other stems, but brown - should I cut these? if so how far down do I cut them?