What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tillandsia watering

I just bought some air plants for the first time and have been having a lot of trouble determining how often I should water them. It seems like every air plant store has completely different guidelines for how often to submerge them, from once a week to once a month, how often to mist them, and even how often to fertilize or what fertilizer to use. I thought I would ask here to see what recommendations you guys have.

Currently I have a glass globe with 3 small plants in it, plus one larger plant that is currently just sitting on a table. I have them sitting under a skylight near my carnivorous plant shelf so they get a bit of light from the T5 fixture as well.

I'm no expert but I do keep a few scattered around my shelves. I sort of use the plants to judge when they need water. Apart from misting them fairly regularly, aka whenever I happen to be messing around with something on the shelves, I give them a good soak when they feel light. With a few of them I can tell the difference in weight just from holding them in my palm if they need water or not. It usually ends up being about 2 weeks, sometimes less. I don't really fertilize on a regular schedule for them but they get sprayed with maxsea usually twice a month.

I get something roughly akin to this:

by hose-watering overhead daily in the summertime, weekly or bi-weekly in the winter. Liquid fertilizer at 200-400ppm once a week, and 50-100ppm during winter. 20-10-20 with micros, alternating with a cal-mag fert and a leaching watering every now and again.

They don't need huge quantities of fertilizer, but for a show-quality appearance it helps.

I get something roughly akin to this: