What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

it IS easy bein' green

I have mexican pings on three different windowsills and have been denying them water but only one seems to be dormant. Everybody else is just growing in that pale green way that CPs without enough light get.

I guess there isn't much I can do, but should I be concerned? I'm new to most pings and need to not kill these!

Mexican Pinguicula do not go dormant. They only change their leaf form.

When and if they start producing smaller Winter-form leaves, they still continue growing new leaves and they frequently flower while in this leaf form. Also, when they are growing larger Summer-form leaves, they continue growing new leaves and they also frequently flower when in this leaf form. Plants that are growing and blooming are not dormant.

Mexican Pinguicula do not go dormant. They only change their leaf form.

When and if they start producing smaller Winter-form leaves, they still continue growing new leaves and they frequently flower while in this leaf form. Also, when they are growing larger Summer-form leaves, they continue growing new leaves and they also frequently flower when in this leaf form. Plants that are growing and blooming are not dormant.

Hi

When I see Mexican Ping is growing winter-form leaves, should I let the soil much drier than that of summer-form leaves with wet soil, supposing that strong lighting is provided ?

As some people says if getting the soil too wet when the ping is growing winter -form leaves, it will cause root rot.

Yeah, that's what I meant-the whole "winter leaves" thing. That is what is not happeneing despite allowing nature to do her thing.