What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ping runners?

NaRnAr

Ive got Crabs!
Not sure if that is the right term, but, I was looking at my ping today and it looks like its sending out baby ping runners from the base of the main plant?

(Im still pretty new to pings...Ive had mine for about a month and its now producing new growth and lots of "dew")

What species of Ping is it? Any pictures?

I think you are referring to P. primuliflora. I don't have a good picture of it but this species produced plantlets at the end of aging leaves. Just let the plantlets be and they will develop roots and becaome independent plants. I tried severing the leaves and that ended up killing the plantlets.

IMG_0475.jpg

Yeah, my esseriana is doing that, got two or three baby plants.

Yes its a primuliflora (lol Jim you must remember when my ping was "deflated"...poor thing!)

Ill snap a couple pics of the plantlets for you...I think I counted 3 or 4 this morning. brb.

Ok here is the pic of the 5 plantlets, theres one hiding under the leaf there and then one at the end of a leaf and then the obvious ones there:
DSC05655.jpg

So i can just leave them there and then when they are bigger and rooted I separate them should i want to?

Now that's a better picture! One of these days.... Anyhoo, if you can muster up a "pot" that has more surface area and depth and plunk the whole thing in it, you would be better off. Then they will naturally colonize the environs.

I think so too Jim, much better than what it looked like a month ago!

Right now its in a 4x4 square pot...should I get something bigger. Ive got the moss around it as it seems to be enjoying that more than when it didnt have any moss. ???