What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First pings

Ant

Your one and only pest!
So, I am completely new to pings and recently got my fist ones in a trade. So, pings are tropical and don't go dormant right? I got Pinguicula esseniana and Pinguicula cyclosecta and they are growing again. Though they lost their original leaves so I can't tell them apart. I would love any tips.

Hi Ant -

Both species you listed are classified as tropical, and more specifically, both grow in Mexico. They do not go through a dormancy, but they do change leaf types from carnivorous to succulent growth. When this happens and you see the buds tighten, cut back on water and keep slightly moist. I hear (though I have not grown this species) P. gypsicola likes it almost bone dry when going through its succulent phase.

Hope this helps.

Phil gave you a good "nutshell" reply. Here's a pictoral one:

IMG_0002.jpg

IMG_0024.jpg

IMG_0196-1.jpg

IMG_0201.jpg

IMG_0237.jpg

jimscott what is that last one? its awesome reminds me of an octopus. i grow p. moranensis, p. agnata, and my newest one is p. cyclosecta, they are another one of my fav cps to grow, although mine are still in the carinvorous stage? in my experience i always keep them in standing water, and they go dormant based on lighting and temperatures, they are right on the windowsill so they might experience a chill on really cold days, which would cause them to go dormant temps there i would say never go below 45f though.

Thanks, but what does the non-carnivorous leaves look like? I not sure if it is making them or not.