What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pinguicula moranensis

I am getting a Pinguicula moranensis and I am wondering about the growing conditions. I
have 3 questions.

1Can it take hot temperatures up to 100 f
2can it grow in sphagnum moss without other materials
3can I use summer carnivorous leaves for propagation?
4what is the best way of growing it.

I have done research, but I have not found too much info. Please reply quickly.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am getting a Pinguicula moranensis and I am wondering about the growing conditions. I
have 3 questions.
First off, you actually have Four questions.

I do not and have not grown this plant. However I am the first to respond, and I have some vestigial knowledge of Pinguicula.

1Can it take hot temperatures up to 100 f
2can it grow in sphagnum moss without other materials
3can I use summer carnivorous leaves for propogation?
4what is the best way of growing it.
1.) It may be possible that a hardy established plant could take those temperatures for short amounts of time, but I think that I would not recommend the plant stay at that temperature for very long.

2.) Again I have not grown this plant, however, I have seen very few people grow their Mexican Pinguicula in just sphagnum moss. The normal substrate I have witnessed or heard of would be some blend of perlite, sand, and peat, with it being heavier on the sand and perlite side than on the peat side.

3.) Yes, it is possible to use the mature trapping leaves for foliar propagation.

4.) Probably any advice you will get from the various successful and plentiful growers of Pinguicula on this forum. Patience!

Last edited by a moderator: