What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question about dormancy

I am new to butterworts and need a little help! I received a P. Titan and P. Pirouette about two months ago. They were dormant when they arrived and I was told to give them their dry dormancy for another month or so. I gradually increased watering and the Pirouette started making carnivorous leaves and is now on the tray system. The Titan has shown no signs of "waking up." The outermost leaves seem to be less fleshy now and are turning a little golden/yellow. Will it rot if I put it on the tray system before it's ready to come out of dormancy or is that exactly what it needs to break dormancy? Thanks for your advice.

I usually let the plant tell me by how it is growing on when to increase or decrease watering for dormancy. Trying to force some out of dormancy by increasing watering often does not end well.

Ha, this is a question I was curious about. Some of my pings just went dormant with the change of soil that I guess they did not like.

With my hybrids (P. x 'Pirouette', x 'Tina' and x 'Florian'), I usually don't observe a dormancy with them. I've been growing them for years now without any trouble. The Florian, though, may be a possible exception to this.

Remember that these guys are very easy to propagate with pullings. If yours is sick, or seems "stuck in a rut," you can always pull a few leaves, toss the mother plant, and start from fresh.