What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Ping Settup

Okay everyone, I found this awesome, Victorian-looking, glazed ceramic washbasin in my grandparent's basement. It's mine now. I have been mulling over what to do with it for a few months now and i have finally decided. I want to dedicate it to some tropical pings. I need some advice though... here are my questions:

1. Can you mix different ping species provided they have similar needs? If so, which species would do well together? I really like the flatter rosette species as opposed to something like P. moctezumae.

2. What substrate mix would you recommend. I have an UN-IDed ping right now growing in a 50/50 peat and perlite mix along with some long grained sphagnum. It is doing quite well. Would that function well in for other tropical species?

3. I have noticed that the two pings I own seem not as greasy as other pings. They still digest insects, some they catch, others I feed to them. Is this due to lack of water? They seem to be growing quite well otherwise...

I think that is a good jumping off point. I will probably have more questions as this progresses. I want to do this the right way! Thanks!

-Matt

The mix I use is 25% peat, 25% sand, 25% perlite, 25% laterite. It works really well! How shallow is this container and how large are the drain holes?

The container itself is about 6 to 7 inches deep but I think I could mound the soil a bit to deepen it more. Unfortunately, there are no drain holes. I take it this may be an issue?

Most tropical pings are Mexican species, and yeah, they do like good drainage.....