What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pinguicula moranensis Winter Leaves?

I've had these 2 P. moranensis growing for about 5 months. These are my first pings so I am still new to this. They had been kept wet but then winter came and their leaves looked different; a little smaller but not tiny like pictures I've seen of other pings in winter phase. I figured they wanted dry winter conditions, so I've been keeping them dry, with only a splash of water every few weeks.

Recently, I've started looking at photos of pings in winter phase again and now I am not sure if mine are in winter rest or if they are still in feeding phase, just hanging on with the little water they have been receiving.

Here are the photos, please tell me your thoughts:
Plant 1:
1a.jpg

1b.jpg

Plant 2:
2a.jpg

2b.jpg

If the leaves are thin usually with a "lip" on the margin then they are in the carnivorous phase. If they are fatter in the middle with no lip then they are in the succulent phase. This is somewhat of a generalization because not all species/hybrids have "lips" but should apply to this species. If they are in transistion from carnivorous to succulent phase they'll grow progressively shorter and fatter and the opposite when going from winter to summer phase.

If your humidity is high enough they can go without much watering.

Looks to me like your plants are in transition.