What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lava Rock for Pings?

Hi! It's been a while!

After browsing the web I've found a lot of really neat lava rocks with pings growing out of them. How is this done?

1) How big does the lava rock have to be?
2) Does it require ANY soil?

(I find myself having a lot of issues with peat or sand. I do well with almost pure perlite though. I am not good at watering my pings. Some of them died from root rot this past summer because I over-watered them by accident).

3) Is it true that you can just plug the pings into larger holes and they do just fine without anything but the rock? (I really want to know this)!
4) How would you water them when they're in a lava rock? Do you just pour on top or fill up the tray by an inch? (This is also important to me because I am AWFUL at watering my poor pings)
5) Do I have to drill holes into the Lava Rock?
6) Is there a specific kind of Lava Rock I should get? (something porous or dense)?
7) Does anyone have a thorough and well-written guide I can look at?

I don't want to try this only to end up killing all my pings. The ones I have are tropical and I must say have been very strong with such a terrible owner.

(If this also helps, I used this for lighting on top of setting my pings on the windowsill). http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003DRBOJ8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Last edited:
So far my lava rock experiment has been successful with Pings. I tried some Droseras as well but they aren't looking that great.
C535961A-F360-4204-A649-03CE70B00010_zpszuty1ha8.jpg