What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mexican Pinguicula outside

Morpheus

CP Newbie
This is probably a fairly stupid question but I wanted to know if it were possible to grow Mexican pings, P. cyclosecta in particular, outside over the summer (protected from direct sunlight), then overwinter it under lights. I'm asking this because my growlight setup is very very poor and I don't particularly have the space or funds to upgrade right now. I also have very limited access to good south or west facing windows. I am interesting in growing Mexican pings as I have never done so before, but I want to make sure it's a reasonable feat before I dive headfirst into purchasing a bunch of plants and inevitably kill them because of improper growing requirements. Many thanks!

Yes that should be fine. I'm not sure in terms of specifically to cyclosecta but I have all my pings growing year round out side in full sun. I've put a few under lights and they do fine but I think they like it outside better :) mexican pings are fairly easy to care for

Haven't grown them outside before, but one thing I would take into consideration is that they are prone to crown rot. If they are out in the rain and water collects in the crown of the plant this could be an issue you run into. Not sure, just something to think about.

Growing this group of Pinguicula, outside, should depend mostly on your ability to approximate their natural environment, or improve on it. I've often considered trying to do as you mention, but it seems much easier for me to grow them indoors, under lights, for now.