What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

pinguicula rotundiflora light too close?

Hi guys!

I just this little ping like a week or so. I normally keep track on my new plants and noticed that the leaves of this particular ping is getting brown. I'm wondering if its because of the the lights being too close? I'm using an artificial light that's around 8 inches from the plant. Or possibly due to transplant stress? Any help or recommendation that you can give me would really be appreciated! I really want this little guy to survive.
cy6sx3D.jpg

Hi Kaila! I am new to Pings too so not really sure what's going on with your plants but I was wondering what type of lights do you have (T12? T8? T5? CFL? LED?) and how many bulbs? My Pinguicula haven't seemed to get much stress from transplanting - I hear they're pretty tough in the regard. In case you care to compare, the plants in my thread are under a 4 bulb T5 fixture sitting about 2ft away. I have heard of others with 2 bulb T5s putting them closer and if it's T8 or T12 they may need to be quite close. Also what are the temperatures like where the plants are sitting? If you have strong lights sitting close they can put off a lot of heat and fry plants.

They are so tiny and cute I hope they pull through for you! I'm sure somebody will be able to help you around here.

Last edited: