What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Two temperate pings

I received these two temperate pings from Best CP today and I was curious, should they stay in their bags of LFS in the fridge and get repotted in spring or should I pot them up and let them sit outside in my cold MN winters? or put them in the terrarium and see if they'll start up? I'm new to temperate pings, but didn't find any great information on google for these two just pics and some short texts.

Any help would be appreciated!
smile.gif

These guys are best kept cold during the winter. They should survive freezing temperatures well enough outdoors, but I am not sure exactly how cold. They can be kept at the same temperature which darlingtonia and S.purpurea ssp. purpurea experience in the winter. I have not grown temperate pings, so I cannot give you a lot of info on these guys. Perhaps someone growing these guys can help?

P. vulgaris is a northern species, much more tolerant of hard freezes than P. vallisneriifolia which come southern Spain. P. vulgaris should be fine outside in MN. I would give the P. val. some protection and try not to let it get below 25F (-5C). Do you have a cold garage or similar?

I've no experience of over-wintering temperate Pings in the fridge, so I can't advise you on that. I think if I tried it, I'd lose the plants, mainly because my kids rarely shut the fridge door properly. I over-winter both species outside in S. England, but protect the P. val. from hard freezes in my cold frame. Our winters are generally a lot milder than yours.

Vic