What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

P.vulgaris questions

Hi I live in Iowa and want to have a bog garden out on our deck and was wondering how easy P.vulgaris are to raise.I checked the ICPS seed bank and they saythe seeds they offer are for ping experts only. I'm new to this and was wondering about getting them if they are a hard species to work with.I am basically setting the bog up for cold terperate species like S.purpurea ssp purpurea and D.intermedia and possibly D.rotundifolia.
Mark W.

Hey,
I have mine outside all year long, in Washington State, where they grow naturely in the Cascade Mountains. So I'm lucky, but I believe that they mean expert because they like it cold, really cold in the winter.
So, yes, you can grow it outside, if kept cold. I notice that you also have other temperate plants in the mix, so all will go well. When flowering, the purple flowers will make a nice youch to any bog garden.
You can also try P. macroceras, and add a cobra lily. Remember to take pics! Good luck on this project.
Kevin

I think your main promlems with growing this species will not be related to your winter temperatures, the hiburnaculae (winter restingf buds) should could just fine on your deck.

Rather, the summer temperatures in Iowa might be much higher than they experience in nature (they are upland plants), make sure to keep them shaded from direct sun in the heat of summer and keep them fairly wet then too.

Good luck

Vic

I've been searching for P. vulgaris for a long time. It's supposed to be a native of my area, but hasn't been seen in a long time, I bet sure there is an isolated colony somehwere around here. But does anyone know a place to get them?

Thanks