What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

P. parviflora journal.

joossa

Aklys
Proboscidea parviflora var. hohokamiana Journal

I will be growing Proboscidea parviflora var. hohokamiana (the white seed variety) this season and will be keeping a little record here for anyone that is interested. I don’t know if my methods will be successful as this is my first attempt at growing these plants. Most of my growing procedure will be derived from what I have read and from tips I have acquired from past growers. Due to the lack of detailed information on growing these plants, I will try to be quite detailed and descriptive in hopes of this journal helping other future growers. Currently I am lacking a camera, but will take pictures somehow or draw illustrations.
PparvifloraWhiteSeed.jpg

Daily temperatures here in Southern California have begun to hit the high 70’s to low 80’s and the danger of frost has also passed, so I decided to go ahead an begin my attempt at growing my Devil’s Claw plants.

4/10/08- I decided to begin with 20 seeds. I will do a three-part treatment in an attempt to maximize germination rates. I will be using this method based on what I have read regarding these plants. To begin with, I placed them in an open container in some pure RO water for about 48 hours. The container was placed on my dresser next to my west facing window that gets early morning sun and bright light the rest of the day. My room is kept at room temp (~70-75F).