Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Growing a better(?) Brocchinia photo log

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Growing a better(?) Brocchinia photo log

If you're familiar with Brocchinia reducta, then you'll probably know two-ish things about it:

1. In the wild they grow as neat little pipes ("tight rosette")
    2. In cultivation they do not ("sad pineapple thing")

The solution, as Barry Rice writes here, is high light intensity. So naturally, I parked my Brocchinia outside with my Sarracenia for the summer because my Nepenthes lights won't cut it. The only problem was my "screenhouse" that keeps the critters out is shaded in the late afternoon and evening.

Brocchinia reducta "build"
    The left side has the space, but not the light. Why's that?

Whoever planted ivy by this fence didn't realize (a) that ivy eats fences and (b) grows much higher than the fence to flower.

Good thing I have a nice, unobscured southern exposure to work with elsewhere. Behold, the laziest build in human history:

1. Get a platform.
    (I like to think inside the box on these projects)

2. "Cleaning"

3. Various assembly
    This window pane is so the box won't get any more water damage, otherwise it's back to step 1.

I was gifted a nice undrained ceramic pot recently.

4. Locate a test subject
    Preferably one that belongs to you

5. Trap test subject

(Note to self: get denser rocks)

6. Wait

Hopefully I'll have a skinnier Brocchinia to show soon, otherwise he'll be sent to the gym next!

Bonus: I fed it some earwigs because I hate earwigs. Earwigs, which are normally skillful swimmers, quickly sink and drown in the urn.
    Last edited by Clue; 07-21-2017 at 05:51 PM.
    "I, for one, can't wait to grow Nepenthes extincta!"
    Plant List ; blog

Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)