What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any other UK amateurs?

Hello!

I am a London based amateur carnivorous plant owner. I have had a nepenthes Alata since last summer, which is growing leaves well, but hasn't grown any new pitchers yet (the old ones died off over winter). And I yesterday took receipt of a Venus fly trap from this website's shop. Super cool :)

I had Venus fly traps when I was younger but they always died. I used de ionised water but that didn't help. Now however my flat has a water butt with rainwater. This appears to be working on the nepenthes, although I think the lack of light and warmth until now due to the weather has resulted in the lack of traps to match. Now it's a bit warmer I'm hoping to have some luck with the nep.

Anyway, thought I'd say hi to see other uk growers to see if we can compare conditions and growth as the summer rolls on :) my mission is to make sure these survive well!

Jack

In particular, how warm should the rooms be, my house isn't particularly warm