What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenias in the tropics?

I am new to CPs and also new to this discussion forum. I live in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, so maybe I shouldn't be here in "foreign carnivorous plant resources." However, the other forums are geared more toward cultivating CPs in temperate climates. I feel closer to the comments in this forum -- particularly those of Singaporeans -- because they tend to be more applicable to Honolulu's tropical climate. .

I wonder if anyone has had any success at growing Sarracenia in a tropical climate without the use of artificial cooling. I understand that, generally speaking, Sarracenia will not grow well in a climate that is warm throughout the year because they need a cool dormancy period. However, I'm hoping that there's a hybrid or two out there that might defy the odds. Thanks for any suggestions that anyone may have.

Hi Tropics,
Welcome to the forums!
I have three different Sarrs (two species and one hybrid) and they appear to be doing okay. A friend of mine has leucophylla and they grow marvelously here. The only problem might be dormency, which might require some kind of treament in the fridge to get them to rest. I keep mine in the same pot when they go into dormency and place them in a cool, shaded area. So far, they have not died on me yet.

Hi Tropics,
Welcome to the contradiction of growing temperate CPs in tropical climate.
Singapore CPers have discussed this "problem" in the forum, see Here

There is a CP nursery in Hawaii supplying Sarrs and other CPs see Here. They will be able to answer your question best.

BTW my 2 sarrs of 6 months in my cultivation are doing fine under direct morning sun, no sign of dormancy yet.
Happy growing

Hi Tropics,