What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Singaporeans: tap or ro/rain water

Hey s'porers,

I wanna ask, do u guys use pure water or tap water. I've been usuing tap water from the farrer road area for awhile now, and i suspect that it might be the problem for some plant failures.

What are your experiences with tap water? Is there a way to obtain pure water cheaply?

about 25% of my new plants gotten from elsewhere (Trifid park, etc) have perished under my setup, and i dunno why...

Also, anyone know how ta prevent slime and algae?

Thanks
Justin

Hello Justin, I use mainly tapwater as well. In fact, I've been using tapwater for over two years now and my plants are still doing very well. As Clayton mentioned in the other post, having the plants exposed to rain could be a reason - the accumulated minerals may be washed away more effectively. In any case, my plants are grown outdoors, so they get a good mixture of rainwater and tapwater!

I use tap water and distilled water. My neps are fine with tap water, no problem. For the past six months, I have been watering my sundews with tap water too. But those are the toughies like D.spatulata and D.intermedia. The only drawback is a layer of green algae on the bottom of the tray. Occassionally, when the water dries up, I just peel the layer off.

Distilled water for pings and baby/delicate sundews.

I tried rain water before but I don't like it personally. It's full of algae and fungi spores. I got mushrooms growing on my media after using it. lol

Tap water. For everything and anything. RO is too ex in singapore, plus a distiller just for that purpose is over doing it. I heard that distilled water tastes like you're drinking air.
smile_m_32.gif