What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

total newbie wanting to

im interrested in setting up a fresh water aquarium.
ill start with maybe a 2ft or 1ft tank
can anyone refer me to some good sites for newbies or some good articles, etc?
i saw a baby arowanna for S$18(about US10) and some chiclids(?)for S$3 in a fish shop.
can anyone recomend a good fish and plants to start with?
around how much does it cost to set up an aquarium?

thx!

Hey Wezx,

I'm only a step up from newbie since I have my tank now. First see if you can find out how many gallons the tank is. It's probably 10-20 gallons for that size, but it makes a big difference on how many fish you can put in there.

I had a roommate with an arowana and ciclids, but she had a huge (100 gal?) tank because the fish can get large. I have a feeling those types might be too big for a tank the size you're thinking of unless you want just one or two of them. Check for the maximum growth size before buying. Oh, and ciclids can be very aggressive, so keep in mind that they may fight with other types of fish.

For an aquarium you're going to need the tank itself, a hood with lights, filter, heater, some gravel, then the plants and fish itself. Unless you get some of the equipment used or from a friend, it's going to cost at least $100. If you go to a thrift store, sometimes you can find a tank for a much cheaper price than at the store. Remember that the larger the tank the more it costs for the hood though!

Hope that helps!