What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anybody know linux...

• Thread starter nrbelex
  • Start date
Hey everybody. This question is really for those who know Linux well. I'm only posting here cause I'm sorta desperate - I don't expect a response.

I'm installing Ubuntu Linux on an external hard drive and having some trouble:

This is my first time attempting to install Linux so I was sorta expecting something like this. I am completely new to this so bear with me.

I'm attempting to install to an external hard drive and got done with all of the installation up until GRUB. All seemed to go well until it had to reboot. Upon rebooting I hit F12, chose to boot from USB (the Ext. HD is USB connected) and got an Error 17 and it just died...

More specifically, it says:

Botting 'Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.12-9-386'
root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0xde

Kernel /vmlinuz - 2.6.12-9-386 root=/dev/mapper/Ubuntu-root ro quiet splash

Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition

Press any Key to continue

Then it just dies.

Any help would be appreciated.

~ Brett

Hey Brett,

I'm not familiar with Ubuntu but I use Linuxquestions.org. I also have a friend who knows alot more than i do. I'll run this by him.
What do you mean by "just dies"?

Is this your first time using linux?

Zac

I think the problem is with the HD's filesystem. You need to format it using a linux filesystem.