What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

pink lady slipper being pollinated

snapped these photos today of my pink lady slipper being pollinated.

pinkladybumblebee2.jpg

pinkladybumblebee.jpg

Fantastic! Only one of my 3 pinks bloomed this year. I hope my C. reginae will bloom- it keeps getting taller.

How long have you had your pink(s)? This is my first year with them but hear that this species in particular is not very happy in cultivation longterm. I'm trying to find a happy medium by growing it in my patio shade garden in a large trough with the other two since it grows here I figure I'll just mulch my woodland troughs for winter and uncover them in spring so they get the full zone 4 winter they're used to.

Awesome! I need that bee for my D. paradoxa!

Wow...lucky you! I wish I had some of those. They are a "holy grail" of the plant world for me. I did discover one at my parent's house and one at the park I go to last year. I want to go see if its up yet at the park. Unfortunately its right at the edge of the footpath so...I don't have much hope for its safety.

Beautiful flower and photo!

In 1990, I helped in a very preliminary effort to figure out what pollinates Maine's very rare ram's head ladyslippers. We sat down in the middle of one of the state's few populations at daybreak and watched insects buzz past flowers for a few hours, waiting for something to land. We left as ignorant as we arrived. I went on to other things and wonder if he ever found the answer.

WOW! WOW! stunning photos! and a cute bee! Nice job!