What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

i've got a notebook next to my terrarium, and even though im up to nearly 30 plants now, im still a total newbie at this. so, whenever a question pops into my head, i write it down. this is what i've compiled so far this month, if you guys could help me out at all, that would be great :hail:

1- do mexican pings need their succulent-dormancy like sarracenia need their dormancy?

2- i still dont know what live sphagnum looks like. i think i MAY have some though. i bought a ping from lowes, just because it was cheap. when i opened the little box, there were green shoots about 1 to 1 1/2 inches long coming out the ENDS of the dead sphagnum. is this live sphag, and if so, will it take if i lay it out on top of a peat base?

3- i keep some of the pots in my terrarium in water trays, with about an inch of standing water. is this neccessary for water-crazy plants in a high-humidity (70%) terrarium?

4- whats the easiest way to repot rosetted plants with tiny roots? (like esseriana)

5- i want to move some of my larger nepenthenes outside. where should i hang them in terms of shade?

6- wheres a good place to buy M-H lights?

7- is there any way to stop my capensis from flowering?!?!?!

8- i want a *SMALL* type of nepenthene. any ideas?

thats all for now... thanks!

Well let me take a stab at a question or two...

SphagnumMoss-big.jpg

3. Yes even though the humidity is high, I'd still keep them in an inch of water. It really depends on the CP. Any VFT or Sarr should definately be in the trays but some pings don't like it and I don't think any neps like it. Most dews like it as well.

7. Well.. you could cut off the flower stalk... but chances are it'll just send up another one. XD