What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'm Curing Cancer! :D

...okay I'm not REALLY curing cancer but I'm HELPING by running this program called Folding@Home. It runs protein folding simulations on your computer and sends the data it gets back to Stanford where the program is from. Apparently folding proteins is the key to learning how cancer and other disease seem to form/how to cure them. So I guess the simulation runs every possible way proteins can fold to figure out which ways cause diseases. I'm not 100% HOW it works but I'm no doctor. Oh and you get points for every work unit you complete. It depends on the size though, sometimes they're 20 and sometimes they're 5000. The 20 ones take like 2 hours or so and the 5000 ones take a couple days. There's probably different sizes but I haven't run into any yet.

There's more info here: http://folding.stanford.edu/

The reason I'm posting this is if I get enough people to help, I'm going to make a team and all of the points go into the team (in addition to the personal stats.)

Here's my stat page.. http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=Kiento