What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Two new additions

Hours after telling my wife I had enough plants I couldn't resist picking these two up while we were at a local nursery.

Unlabeled
img3165io0.jpg

Labeled "Dana's Delight"
img3166ae8.jpg

The rest of the gang
img3164ab0.jpg

Wow, the VFT has a really nice tan!

I thought so too. The others around it seemed to vary in color but this one had the most red on the traps by far. I'm not sure if its different or just happened to get a bit more sun. Should I pull those black traps off?

Leave 'em there or snip/pinch 'em off. I usually snip 'em off because they tend to get mold/fungus.

Hours after announcing since I am a beginner grower and should slow down I bought a ton of Sarracenia.

Really, you can't say you are going to stop. It's like saying "I'm gonna stop smoking" right here right now.

By the way, that pot you have those D. adelae in

OMG! I have those EXACT same pots. Do you get them from Wal-Mart too? Lol!

Nice Drosera too. I can't get a dewy Drosera, no matter how hard I try, no matter how much money I invest, no matter how many bones I snap, break, and no matter how many sleepless hours I get, I can't get dew on a Sundew.

:'(

haha, I believe that post was courtesy of ilbasso. The larger one with the Purpurea in the same style was a freebie I picked up somewhere. Nice pots.

Never had a problem with Drosera myself. I only have one shoplight above all my plants and they sit in the water trays for humidity. Room humidity is probably around 45%rh. I'm suprised most of this is still alive

I have a D. capensis in about 50 - 55% RH, and it was almost touching my growlight and it has only produced miniscule drops. I'd have to sell my soul for a dewy sundew.