What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mineral ID?

• Thread starter moonflower
  • Start date
any rock hounds out there? ;)

i've always had a passing interest in minerals & fossils, and my mom had picked up these three specimens from a moving sale a few months back (i just got home to see them). i know the first one is garnet, i think the second is fluorite, and i have no idea what the third is (also fluorite?) it's got a very regular slanting pattern of breakage... what's the name? rhombus? it's a slanted rectangle, basically. and id's would be cool :) thanks!

minerals005.jpg

minerals004.jpg

minerals003.jpg

For some reason I think halite with the last, but then again I'm no mineral expert. Lick it. :D

-Ben

green flourite i think

prolly calcite, least it looks like it to me

if its halfway clear put it over some newsprit or something and see if it does double refraction like this:

Calcite.jpg

if it does its calcite, if not its prolly fluorite or halite, of these two rince it off with water and touch your tongue to it, if its salty its halite if not prolly fluorite

rattler, calcite has cleavage not at 90 degrees, which causes the double images. But, this mineral she has looks to be 90 degrees, so it's not going to be calcite. Also, a dilute bit of HCL will make it fizz if it's calcite.

Errg wait never mind, I re-read it and she says it's a rhombus shape.

-Ben

rattler, calcite has cleavage not at 90 degrees, which causes the double images. But, this mineral she has looks to be 90 degrees, so it's not going to be calcite. Also, a dilute bit of HCL will make it fizz if it's calcite.

Errg wait never mind, I re-read it and she says it's a rhombus shape.

-Ben