What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ladybugs as pest control (not for CPs obviously :))... any experiences?

I know a lot of you guys are into bugs as well as bug-eating plants (ironically! ;)) sooooo....

My poor little container garden is starting to get a nasty aphid infestation :p so I'm considering ordering a package of ladybugs to help control them. I heard somewhere that a little dish soap in water would take care of the pests in the short term, which is what I did for now, but I really don't care for soapy tomatoes and cucumbers come harvest time. Has anybody tried using ladybugs for aphid control before? Success or tips? I'd like to avoid nuking everything with pesticides if possible... I'm not a crazily pro-organic person but minimizing pesticide use never hurt anyone :)

I understand your concern for the ues of pesticides and respect it. How does one keep the ladybugs from wandering off?

i know the greenhouse i worked at used them all the time to knock back aphid infestations they say it worked really well

i would think that would only work in an enclosed environment...like a greenhouse.
Alex

i doubt that.................the ladybugs should stay where the food is........the greenhouse i worked in was rather large but could successfully use the ladybugs to control aphids on a group of plants only taking up a few square feet.

Rattler hit it right in between the eyes. Why leave till you HAVE to leave the food source?