What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any Fossil Experts?

• Thread starter Maxx
  • Start date

Maxx

Someday is not a day of the week.
looks like it could be a scapula (shoulder blade) of something..

and I dont think its a fossil..its a bone of recent origin.

how big is it?

Scot

I'm not a fossil expert, but I'm with Scot, I don't think it's a fossil, but a more modern bone. I'd also be curious about size, and what beach it was found. I'm wondering if it isn't a marine mammal--a whale fin? Interesting mystery! Mike

it's not a fossil fo sho. I was thinking a brown pelican scapula or some other big bird shoulder-ish thing.

Oh wait maybe it wasn't a fossil (oops). Either way it's still unknown what it is. It's not a complete piece so it's like 6in across and it was found on the beach in Long BEach CA.

It looks like a fossil scapula of an African paleoswallow. Did you happen to notice a fossil coconut anywhere nearby?

A swallow carrying a coconut?

A swallow carrying a coconut?

it could grip by the husk.

As for the bone, I agree it does look like a scapula of some kind though it doesn't look like any thing I am familiar with, though I must admit my ignorance when it comes to bird bones.

hmmm.... well it has me stumped. here's my thinking:

- it definitely resembles a piece of a scapula, but....
- according to my anatomy book (which i'll grant is not the best one out there), birds actually have very reduced scapulae that look more like long bones than flat bones
- it could be a bird sternum, which are wide and flat, but that wouldn't explain the different appearance of the front and back- that indicates that it IS a scapula or some other flat bone, since the sternum is bilaterally symmetrical