What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Spider mites or some other pest on my Nepenthes

reading through the other posts, I'm not sure exactly what it is... I had been growing the plant in the campus greenhouse for a few months and while it looks great, it's developed a few webs on it since I've brought it home (they come back when removed). They run from the plant to the edge of the pot over the soil, and I didn't notice much damage to the plant itself (yet). Does this sound like spider mites or another annoying pest? They have a variety present in the greenhouse. I'm currently drowning the plant for 24 hours, I figure that won't hurt the plant much but should at least reduce the population of whatever is growing on it... will this work or should I try something else? Will insecticidal soap work on spider mites>

Thanks!

you shouldn't use any soap based insecticide on any CP's, since it can be harmful to them.

Might be easier for us to help you if you posted a pic or two, if possible :). Update us if the webs still come back even after you drown the plant/media.
-Justin

I don't know if drowning Nepenthes is a good idea as many of them don't care for "wet feet".

Spider mites are very tiny - like about the size of the "dot" over the "i" on the screen. They prefer the undersides of leaves.

Recommended method to identify: place a piece of white paper under one or more leaves. Tap the leaf or leaves sharply with a pencil or your finger (but not hard enough to cause damage). Examine the paper under strong light. If you see a bunch of tiny dots that scurry around most likely you have spider mites. Examination under 20x magnification will positively identify time - look for 8 legs.