What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NeciFiX

Kung Fu Fighting!
Has anyone here ever done mini speeches or talks or speeches on CPs? I did once last year for a project, I believe I did it on the ICPS, the conservation part about the ICPS, since the theme was for animal rights/protection and habitat destruction (and we all know CPs are suffering huge amounts of habitat destruction).

Here's my story.

I had been growing CPs for several months then, and I read many days and nights about plants and was concerned about their environmental status. When we received the notice for a project on conservation and such, I immediately thought of the ICPS. I wrote down on the slip what I wanted to do, my teacher just rolled her eyes and smiled since she knew how much I was into carnivorous plants, and let me do it.

I forgot about the whole dang thing.

A month later in a Speech class out of nowhere we are going to present them. I have no notecard. I hadn't thought of ANYTHING to say, and I only looked deep into the conservation part of the ICPS and endangerment of CPs for a few days in class in the very beginning. No notecard, no planned speech. I was debating with myself whether to stand up and give the speech, do I say "Ermmm... um... scary Gothic liver eating teacher lady... I uh... don't have my speech." and go off with an F and a missing spinal column? Or do I stand up there, pure red faced, stuttering, teetering and uming for 10 minutes.