What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Camera Shopping... looking for advice

jimscott

Tropical Fish Enthusiast
I've been borrowing cameras for the past 4 years but would really like to get a decent one of my own. It doesn't have to be the top of the line thing, that comes with a user manual 2" thick. I just want to be able to take clear, crisp pictures of something along the lines of pygmy sundew.

Question 1: What is the difference between 'zoom' and macros?

Question 2: If given a choice between emphasizing zoom and macros, which would be best for small, rosetted sundews?

Question 3: What's a decent megapixel for capturing small sundews?

Zoom is just used to take pictures of things far away in the distance, but not very good for close up shots. Macro is only really good for close up shots, but many cameras have a "macro" feature with a zoom lens. For example, I have a camera with about 8x zoom, but also a macro mode. In this case, you can only zoom a little for the macro to be efficient, but the zoom has a much longer range.

But, if you're looking for like a digital SLR, a macro lens will be a much better choice than a zoom lens for taking pictures of smaller plants. Although, since these cameras are digital, they will often have a macro mode anyways.

Question 2: If given a choice between emphasizing zoom and macros, which would be best for small, rosetted sundews?

Definitely macro.