What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

i have a winter ?

i live in zone 6 and i was wondering if it would be salf to keep my plants out said for winter i have purple pitcher plant sundew(igot at lows) and VFT

Im a zone 5, but I would think as long as your temperatures go below freezing (32 degreed F) you should bring them inside and put them in the fridge for a dormacy period as freezing will kill them.

I could be wrong, as Im new to the coming dormacy, but I think I remember reading that. :)

(Im not sure about your sundew, mine isnt a "termperate")

Last edited:
yes, you have a winter. ;)
(you asked if you did or not..the answer is yes, you do.)

purple pitcher plant = probably safe to leave outdoors all winter, but could be risky depending on if its a northern or southern purpurea.

sundew = need more info..you need to know the specific species.

VFT = not safe to leave outdoors all winter, it will likely die.

and THANK you for providing location information! :)
makes replying so much easier!
I didnt need to ask where you live..(which I often do with questions like this..)

Scot

You can just dig a small hole in the ground in which to put your VFT or S. purpurea for the winter. I did this one year, and it worked pretty well. But leave the plant in the pot; don't put the bare root ball into the ground.

-Ben

wrong section? this is in the trading section

Hi Rom,

I have both S. purpurea (purple pitcher) and VFT's which I over winter outside in zone 6.

Dig a hole in the ground and place the pot in the hole - you should leave about 1/2" of pot above the soil line to avoid contamination.

Then cover the pots with leaves about 6" deep (this is called mulching)/