What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greetings,
I am have been involved in the orchid business for a few years and I am relatively new to the carnivorous world. Being a orchidist, I love labels on my plants, in fact if a plant doesn't have a label it usually doesn't hang out in my collection or greenhouses. Now step into the CP world. The orchid world uses the system of RHS. The thing I find confusing is the use of 'cultivar' names. Like the prestigous 'Leah Wilkerson'. In the orchid world it would be labelled Sarracenia Moorei 'Leah Wilkerson'. Species would be listed as lower case, and hybrids start with a capital letter. Now I am trying to be understanding and accept this whole new labelling system (to me). Am I alone in this personal dilema? I have even had a vendor suggest I buy a plant that wasn't labelled, and asked why I needed a label of what it was... I am not sure why I need them to have labels. I understand that natural or human-made hybrids occur in nature and in cultivation. Is this something I need to just get over? I love this new world of botany, but find the labelling a bit frustrating. Sorry for my 15 second rant....
T-D