What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blue Food

As some of you know I'm a chef... I'm very experimental and try to challenge the idea of what food is. recently I was contracted to do a New Years party where the theme is blue. Blue is not a color that often occurs in vegetables or meats. It's mainly an hors d'oeuvres party.
It's been rather fun and a challenge to put this together. Just wanted to toss my menu out there to get some opinions,

Purple Peruvian Potatoes stuffed with roasted red pepper salsa (Yeah I know they're not blue but close enough)
Blue beluga caviar served on a spoon shaped cracker along side a shot of Vodka
Blue corn tortilla chips infused with lime juice (just to set on the tables)
Martini glasses filled with blueberries
Filet Mignon bite sized and served black and blue of course
Stilton blue cheese fondue
Blue velvet cupcakes

I was thinking of something with blue fish but it's such a horrible fish to work with.

I don't know what any of that food is... I guess I've had a cupcake before, but not a velvet one! LOL!

I'd be thrilled to try any of that stuff, it all sounds good to me. :)

well there's red velvet cake I'm just gonna replace the red food coloring with blue food coloring... even though originally Red velvet cake was made with beet juice...

how about blue curacoa ice cream?

Caviar of any color gets my vote! :-D I don't care what color it is, it's just good no matter what!

Do I get a jar of it for helping choose? ;-)
(I only have about enough for one cracker left in my fridge... I'm rationing it LOL)

Could use edible blue flowers on the cupcakes, blue violas?