What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Starting Bonsai Help

I just learned something. I'll go "fix" my bonsai-to-be. No one ever told me to put it in the ground.

I have a Japanese maple that I want to train, plus a little baobab (that I think can stay in it's pot), and a little dwarf Sitka spruce that grows slower'n the Alps. That one will topp off at three feet in about 30 years. Automatic bonsai! :D

boababs wont get the caracteristic shape until they're decades old :(

Dead wood on coniferous trees is very japanese, dead wood on dedicious trees is not.
I must admit that im just a beginner, and that Walter Palls style isnt by japanese rules is mostly hearsay.
Ive been around on different bonsai forums and often heard rumors of ppl following the japanese style very strictly not being happy with the more naturalistic style of others (maybe thats the "western" school of thought you were talking about ?)

hmmm..I dont know..
I havent been on any bonsai forums in years..
But I have been going to workshops, symposiums and bonsai shows hosted by:

http://www.internationalbonsai.com/

for almost 20 years..and I have never really heard anything about a real division away from Japanese styles..

When I said "western school of thought" I didnt really have anything specific in mind..
just something that is *not* the traditional Jaopanese styles I guess..but I dont really have any specifics of what that might mean..