What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How long have you been growing CPs?

Exo

Tastes like chicken!
Just wondering how long the peeps around here have been growing CPs as a serious hobby (childhood experiments with the odd vft or S.purpurea are exluded ;) )

I've been growing as a dedicated hobby for almost 6 years now.....my first CP was a D.capensis "red".

well im going on a year and my first was nepenthes ventricosa

Since october:D.

Started in 1996 with neps, quit in 2003, started again with neps 2010

I understand your your reason to exclude childhood growing however...

I first start growing carnivores was ten years ago when I was ten. However, studying them as a hobby started a year or two before that due to the wonderful wild D. rotundifolia you can find in my area. My first batch of plants was S. purpurea, D. muscipula, D. capensis, D. californica, and N. ventricosa. Not surprisingly the plants all died one by one with surprisingly, the cobra lily lasting the longest only after the D. capensis which survived for years.

So that was my child hood experience that is excluded, however I struggle to exclude it because my capensis lived until I re-ented the hobby after I had gotten through the worst of my teenage angsty years. So in a way, my growing of CP's never stopped. (thanks to capensis. :D)

But the rebirth of my interest started with a N. bicalcarata that I purchased four years ago.

So in short:

Ten years if we're counting capensis and wild dews.

But four years since I really lit the flame back up again.

And pretty much one or two years since I let all shame go and started buying plants hither and thither without forethought. :banana2: