What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JennB

You are getting sleeeepy...very, very sleeeeepy...
A generous member of the forum (I don't know if they want their name known or not but you know who you are and thank you again!!) took pity on my plantless noob state and gifted me with some hardy starters which arrived yesterday. So I'm still a noob but now I'm a noob with plants! :boogie: I've got Utricularia sandersonii, Pinguicula, Nepenthes albomarginata, and Drosera capensis babies (and I'm about as proud and nervous as any new parent lol). I'll have to get pics asap.

I've already narrowly missed two disasters! The ping arrived nestled down in some moss in a little cup so I figured it might be less stressful to let it stay in there for awhile but my supplier assured me it should be potted. Even worse, my husband brought home what he thought I would need to pot them, peat/sphag mix, sand, and perlite, so I went ahead and tossed a handful of perlite into my mix. Thank goodness the packaging caught my eye before it was too late because in smaller print under the name it said it had Miracle Gro in it :0o: That batch got dumped out with a quickness!

Now it's just a matter of tweaking their conditions till they're as happy as can be! I'm open to hearing any and all suggestions. I can't wait till I'm the one sending plants to some anxious but excited newcomer to the cp obsession :crazy::jester:

Gotta start somewhere! Welcome to the hobby!

Congratulations!!!

welcome to the hobby

Hey Jenn, that is great! Gotta watch that Miricle Gro stuff. I have not forgotten you, watch your collection grow come spring :grin:

The curse has befallen you...

Good growing!

YAY! Welcome to the addiction!